nav_left_shd nav_rht_shd
icon WAPRES Integrated Management Systems

WAPRES operates an Integrated Management System (IMS) involving the integration of key elements of management and business activities to achieve sustainable social, economic and environmental outcomes.

WAPRES is certified to ISO 14001 Environmental Management Systems, AS 4708 Australian Forestry Standard, AS 4707 Chain of CustodySCS Interim Standard for Natural Forest and Plantation Forest Management Certification in Australia (Under the Forest Stewardship Council®) and FSC-STD-40-004 Chain of Custody. 

WAPRES also adheres to the principles and criteria of AS 4801 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems. The framework of the IMS is utilized to enable the implementation of a best practice approach to management and the achievement of continuous improvement.

WAPRES is audited regularly to these standards and the executive summaries of our most recent external audits are available in the download column to the right.


ISO 14001 Environmental Management System (EMS)

ISO 14001 is an internationally recognised environmental management system standard enabling WAPRES to achieve consistent environmental regulatory compliance.


Australian Forestry Standard (AFS)

Building on the Company’s EMS is the certification to AFS. WAPRES has been certified to AFS since September 2004. The requirements of AFS are underpinned by international criteria for sustainable wood production and reflect multi-stakeholder values for best practice forest management in terms of ecological, social and economic sustainability. Certification includes forest operations within the “Defined Forest Area” which include all areas of the business from establishment through to harvesting and processing. 

Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC®) Forest Management (C103808)

FSC forest management certification involves an inspection of the forest management unit by an independent FSC-accredited certification body to check that the forest complies with the internationally-agreed FSC 10 Principles of Responsible Forest Management.  WAPRES attained this certification in 2013. The applicable standard can be found here:  SCS Interim Standard for Natural Forest and Plantation Forest Management Certification in Australia


Chain of Custody (AFS and FSC®CoC)

The operation of a CoC system assures customers and shareholders that the certified wood and forest products they purchase are sourced from a well managed and certified timber source. It provides a system of traceability of logs and woodchips from plantations and forests to export. All intermediate links including harvesting, transportation and processing, are covered under CoC.




WAPRES’ Defined Forest Area/Forest Management Unit (DFA/FMU) covers a total area of approximately 26,000 hectares in the south west of Western Australia which comprises freehold properties owned by WAPRES and private leases. Within these area WAPRES currently manages approximately 20,000 net stocked hectares of primarily Tasmanian Blue Gum (Eucalyptus globulus) plantations. The plantations are generally within the 700mm rainfall isohyet and are situated between Boddington in the north, Albany in the south and Augusta in the west.

To view our DFA/FMU Maps, please download from the right.

WAPRES makes publicly available documents including the WAPRES Plantation Management Plan, WAPRES Plantation Management Policy and WAPRES Controlled Wood Policy. Should there be any additional documents you require or if you have any issues relating to certification, please send an email to WAPRES via our Contact Page and we will address your query.



news_icon Latest News
Notification of WAPRES Combined FSC/RW(AFS) Forest Management, FSC/RW(AFS) CoC, FSC Controlled Wood and ISO14001 Audit...
news_icon Links
View our related links and websites of interest...
news_icon Downloads
spacer rht_shd